Today really is the day to work off the excesses of Christmas but I decided to postpone my early morning session in favour of something a bit more creative. I set about building my boredom relieving device this morning out of the finest materials known to man (and what was close at hand) 1/2 inch marine plywood. Behold:

 

As you can see I have taken great care and even shapes the front corners just to add a little flair. Now, it might not look like much but it’s really going to come in handy over the next few days.

 

 

What is it? Well, it’s a table and it fits onto the ‘handlebars’ like so:

I think you’ll agree, it’s pretty good…..

Or perhaps not.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So now, I have a view that looks like this:

I may get to watch Rocky III after all and I now have more music at my disposal then before.I’m hoping that this will ease the boredom issues.

 

 

 

There isn’t a lot to say about the first session this morning, it was a little bit more enjoyable and I tested out my new set up. So, that’s another 34.8 km in the bag and a little bit closer to the target. I see from the leader boards that some people have reached and breached their goals already – chapeau!

The only other problem other than boredom is chafing. Again, this isn’t something I was expecting (although I’m not surprised) so I’ve had a rummage around and broken out the vaseline.

The machine is currently making a little bit of noise too – an internal clunking on every pedal stroke that makes it sound more like a train than a bike so that’s something I’ll need to investigate if I still want to be sane at the end of this, although anyone that knows me knows that as long as nothing has fallen off my bike, I usually put up with odd knocks and noises, creaks and groans until they provoke me into attending to them with either a total failure or a dangerous loosening. I suppose having mechanical issues does make the experience seem more ‘real.’

So, onto this evening and the double. I used my new on bike entertainment to great effect and watched (most of) The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (original Swedish version) and it definitely helped. Perhaps it wasn’t the right film to watch – it didn’t leave me feeling particularly happy but it helped with the passing of time. The two hours only felt like two hours which is a big improvement.

My system of photographically logging the rides is still in operation and their uploaded onto Flickr, although I forgot last night to upload the middle ride, and I nearly did the same again tonight. I don’t think I’ll bore anyone with them here from now on as that seems to be working.

My only decision now is whether to have a rest day tomorrow or carry on through and beyond the 500km – I can then have a rest day and a couple more sessions before my proper ride on Saturday – I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to that!

